Open Discussion Forum

• 1.  Requesting more parental support for special needs children

Posted 02-11-2023 02:15 PM

Hello. I am a teacher/director in a small parent cooperative preschool. We have long had a reputation of a school that offers a lot of outdoor time, establishes strong relationships and is well-suited to active children. Like many schools, we are seeing the effects of the pandemic this year. Many children need a lot of adult attention and we're seeing several with pronounced sensory seeking behaviors. We've consulted with parents, who have been cooperative about getting their children into occupational therapy. We have talked to their therapists and had several come to observe and offer pointers. And still, these children need almost the full attention of one of two teachers in each class.

In one class, with several diagnosed children with special needs, we have hired a third teacher for 4 days a week with our Childcare relief funds. This has helped but a couple of children with sensory seeking issues are very disruptive and sometimes hurt other children unintentionally or seems threatening in their actions. Parents are concerned with some justification and the board would like to have these parents provide shadows for these children or ask them to leave. Our behavior plan does allow us to take either action after we have followed the proscribed steps, which we have. One child has been here since September, and we've seen little improvement. Another child (another class) just came in mid-November and almost immediately started twice weekly therapy after two weeks. The other child had been going to an OT and now is scheduled for further evaluation.