Open Discussion Forum

• 1.  Circle Time/Story Time Seating Ideas

Posted 02-11-2023 11:57 AM

Hello community,

I am looking for seating ideas for whole group activities. The standard ABC colorful rug and carpet squares are not working with my group of 3/4 students. 

Does anyone use flexible seating in their preschool class? If so, what does that look like. We have 19 students. What do you think the ideal size rug would be if we choose to go with a standard rug in one color? Do you think oval /circular is better than rectangular? I've also thought of using foam exercise mat such as this: https://www.target.com/p/best-choice-products-24-piece-puzzle-exercise-mat-multipurpose-floor-tiles-gym-mat-38-thick-96-sq-ft-gray/-/A-82323663

Thanks in advance for any insight/ideas.

------------------------------
    Leslie T.
    Preschool Teacher
    Illinois

• 2.  RE: Circle Time/Story Time Seating Ideas

Posted 02-12-2023 03:03 AM

Good morning. My name is Sharlene and I am new to this forum. I wanted to share this idea if your classroom space allows. Try using coloring seating pillows. Have a different color or shade assigned to each child. In the morning as you prepare for circle time, have each child pick their color pillow and be seated on the carpet. It may also be helpful to label it with their name. After circle time, have each child put back their pillow in the proper place/storage area that you have created. This can be fun for them and teaches them responsibility. 

Sharlene Ferrell
    Toddler Teacher
    Elizabeth NJ

• 3.  RE: Circle Time/Story Time Seating Ideas

Posted 02-12-2023 08:05 AM

Children learn best through play, so most of the day should be spent playing, not in group settings. What are your goals for group time? Are the children actively involved, or are they being asked to sit, look, and listen?