Open Discussion Forum

Expand all | Collapse all

Diversity and Equity book clubs in the new year.

  • 1.  Diversity and Equity book clubs in the new year.

    Posted 01-23-2019 08:02 PM
    Hi all,
    Here's the skinny on our book club.
    We'll be discussing White Fragility by Robin DiAngelo
    Here's the link on AMAZON
    https://www.amazon.com/White-Fragility-People-About-Racism/dp/0807047414

    We'll be meeting on two Sundays in March, March 17 and 24.  

    from 2 - 3:30 PST

    3 - 4:30 MST

    4 - 5:30 CST

    5 - 6:30 EST

    You can sign up using the link below if you want to participate and we'll send you more information via e-mail as the book club gets closer.
     https://goo.gl/forms/mqtOHZIjhrnUkMOJ2

    ------------------------------
    [Meg] [Thomas]
    [Early childhood consultant
    [St Paul ] [MN]
    ------------------------------


  • 2.  RE: Diversity and Equity book clubs in the new year.

    Posted 01-29-2019 03:19 PM
    Thanks for the information Meg! I am so excited for this book club. I found this book to be so helpful when I read it last year and I am excited to revisit it. For me, White fragility is one of those concepts that seemed easy to grasp at first, but the more time goes by, I am understanding just how layered and harmful my own fragility really is.

    ------------------------------
    Shannon Green
    Southern Illinois University Carbondale
    Carbondale IL
    ------------------------------